Skip to content.

Try it for yourself:

Download the app now

On your computer? Scan with your phone camera to get the app!

Evidence Summary: Curriculum and Assessment

Education Reform
14 June 2024 Karen Wespieser

Education for the future: principles for curriculum and assessment

The National Curriculum was last reformed in 2014, with the new specification GCSE 9-1 grades rolled out from 2017. In primary school, learners are formally assessed at four separate points: Reception Baseline, Phonics Check, Multiple Times Table Check, and KS2 Sats. In secondary school, students have no external exams until age 16 when they typically take between 7 and 9 GCSEs with the average pupil taking 22 exams lasting 33 hours.